top of page
Search
Writer's picturebeachstarr5

Ashes to Beauty


Another school shooting. So very tragic. "It is not supposed to be this way" We tell our children.

All I feel is the weight and heaviness of what still seems to be looming only with added struggles. It feels like boulders sitting on my chest and I am barely able to take a breath.


So many families affected. Far too many Babies lost too soon. For some it might feel like surviving a tsunami and being grateful you were able to stay afloat. A sense of relief. However, many others are just putting on their shields of armor, preparing for battle, and all they are left with is an overwhelming emotion of “do I have any fight left?”.


I keep hearing the word optimistic ringing over and over in my ears. However, if I’m being completely honest I’m drowning in utter pessimism.

I am angry. I am anxious. I am sad. I hear over and over in my head " not if it happens to us. When"

That being said; I know all these emotions are appropriate to the daily life we are all living.


Emotions are our teachers, and I believe many of us have been taught to stuff them or sweep them under the rug. But we should NOT hide from them. They motivate us, give us wisdom, strengthen us and equip us with compassion.


I don’t know what you are personally going through at this moment. What I do know is we are all going through something. If I'm being honest its hard for me to unpack what I’m walking through right now.


What I do believe is beauty will come from these ashes. Right now I have love, compassion and empathy smashed together along with anger, fear and sadness.

When I feel these conflicting emotions I remember to just " Be Still"


Therefore, as I sit feeling the heaviness of whats happening around me..All I can do is Pray. It's the only thing that will calm my Storm.


Galatians 6:2


" Carry each other's burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ"

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page